Imark Makeup and Beauty Essentials

Your Baby Can Read!

Do Oats or Oatmeal contain Gluten?

I once read that Oatmeal does not contain gluten.  I did assume this, when I ate two small- squared brownies, I made with oatmeal.  Within one hour, I began to itch something awful. I had to brew some caffeine-free, gluten-free chamomile tea, to relieve the histamines to tame my itch.

So, I went to Google to find out the truth.  I found out that pure oatmeal does not contain gluten.  However, when oatmeal is processed,  as part of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), it is processed near, wheat, rye and barley. Wheat, rye and barley contain gluten.

According to Wikipedia, oats in Finland,  Sweden, Ireland and Scotland are less likely to be contaminated with gluten.  I know Trader Joes sells oatmeal from Europe.  I think I'll check out Whole Foods.

Bob’s Red Mill, Gluten Free Oats, Cream Hill Estates, Legacy Valley, Montana Gluten Free - PrOatina and Gifts of Nature. If you find these are not, tell the market where you purchase this item.

Bonita Steele


Bonita